Matariki, Hawke’s Bay Regional Development Strategy for economic, inclusive and sustainable growth, is governed by a Governance Group and an Executive Steering Group. These groups have been formed to acknowledge the cross-sector partnerships and to provide the leadership required to support economic, inclusive and sustainable outcomes for the Hawke’s Bay region. 

We recognise that sustainable economic development across our region is made possible when we combine health, social, cultural, environmental and business initiatives.

Matariki Governance Group

The Matariki Governance Group provides insights based on knowledge of the region and the areas of expertise brought to the table in order to advance the successful delivery and stated objectives of Matariki HBRDS.

The current Co-Chairs of the Matariki Governance Group are:

Leon Symes


Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa

Alex Walker


Central Hawkes Bay District Council

Matariki Executive Steering Group

The Matariki Executive Steering Group provides advice to the Matariki Governance Group.  They sponsor and provide the appropriate insight of key actions, activities or project teams and give effect to the actions within Matariki HBRDS.

The current Co-Chairs of the Matariki Executive Steering Group are:

Robin Hape

Chief Executive

Ngāti Pāhauwera Development Trust

Nigel Bickell

Chief Executive

Hastings District Council